About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Home: 20's Jazz

Navigation:    Home    Back   

Sidney Bechet

(May 14th 1897 - May 14th 1959)

Born in New Orleans clarinet, soprano saxophonist, and composer Sidney Bechet would become one of the first prominent soloists in jazz. From 1911 to 1914 he performed in the "Eagle Band" with Bunk Johnson, and in the "Olympia Band" alongside King Oliver. He went on to tour extensively landing in Chicago with Freddie Keppard, and then New York by 1919. That Spring soon after joining "Will Marion Cook's Syncopated Orchestra" Bechet first traveled to London, England. Upon returning to the U.S. Sidney Bechet first appeared on record at a session led by Clarence Williams in July 1923.


Bechet Solo (2:14)

Blue Horizon (4:29)

Down By The Old Millstream (3:06)

Down On The Levee Blues (3:32)

I've Found a New Baby (9:06)

Junk Bucket Blues (3:07)

Kansas City Man Blues (3:01)

Lady Luck Blues (3:21)

Lonesome Woman's Blues (3:05)

Mandy Make Up Your Mind (3:13)

Really the Blues (3:39)

Wait Till You See My Baby Do The Charleston (2:50)

Wild Cat Blues (3:03)

You've Got the Right Key But the Wrong Keyhole (3:22)

Subscribe to 20's Jazz

Absolutely free
Every time we post a new video,
we'll send you a notice by e-mail.

First Name: E-mail address:

Return to the 20's jazz home page

About Us | Privacy Policy | Contact