About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Home: 20's Jazz

Deep Creek

Jelly Roll Morton & His Orchestra


Subscribe to 20's Jazz

Navigation:    Home    Back    More videos like this

Feat. William Cato


This recording was produced in New York City on December 6th 1929 featuring Edward Anderson and Edwin Swayze trumpets, William Cato trombone, Russell Procope clarinet & alto sax, Paul Barnes soprano sax, Joe Garland tenor sax, Ferdinand "Jelly Roll" Morton piano, Lee Blair guitar, William Moore bass, and Manzie Johnson drums.

*"Deep Creek" was composed by Ferdinand "Jelly Roll" Morton.

Capturing perfectly the intense oppressive melancholy of the "Old South" this haunting instrumental is akin to a woefully word-less ballad.

Trombonist, William Cato provides some particularly skillful slide work on this record. Also worthy of mention the delightful reed section is comprised of a highly competent trio headed by the more than proficient Russell Procope clarinet & alto, with Joe Garland on tenor, and the youthful Paul Barnes' soprano saxophone.

If you enjoy 20sJazz.com, Please Share us with your Friends. Thanks!
For more Jelly Roll Morton videos, click here

See the complete catalog of
20's jazz videos

About Us | Privacy Policy | Contact